I BELIEVE

The other day while searching for some papers I found something that lead me into writing this blog. I found a paper I wrote not long time ago.. The title of this paper was, “I BELIEVE!”. I cannot find words to express how I felt the second I read those two words. I remember it as it was yesterday.

14593598_1289154967771302_404237302_n

It was around 8 pm. Tuesday night. I was at my host family’s house. That was the last place I wanted to be in that moment. Why? Because my baseball team was having one the most important game of the season and I wasn’t there. I still cannot forgive myself about me not being there. I let my team down… one of the worst feelings ever. I wasn’t playing with them but I was part of the team and it hurt.

Two days after this game, we had the game against our biggest rivals and I had already decided that I’m going to give my boys a speech before the game so instead of sleeping that Tuesday night I was writing.

I was writing the paper I just found and now I want to share it with you. You can believe me or not but I’m not going to copy-paste the speech but I’m really going to re-type it just to feel one more time that excitement I had while saying those words to my brothers.

“I BELIEVE!

The reason I wanted to talk with all of you today is of course, tomorrow’s game against Central Heights. I remember our last game against them very well. I felt so bad after that game. I went straight home and start crying. I couldn’t sleep all night. It was tough. It was painful. I was broken, especially after what happened the game before that… the game in Woodville. Man, I was really sad. One of the worst nights ever in my life.  

The game in Woodville. We lost 9-8 in a game where a lot of things were decided by the umpires.
The game in Woodville. We lost 9-8 in a game where a lot of things were decided by the umpires.

Now listen, I’m not playing with y’all. I can’t. But what I feel for this team is something that I feel about very few things and it’s not that easy to explain it. I know you might find this strange and weird but this team means a world to me. When I had to leave the other night I felt that I let MY TEAM down. I hate the feeling. I hate the days I have to miss practice because of my host parents. It’s always hard for me to not be with you guys. And though it was really tough night for me I tried to work a bit and find words for y’all before our game against Central Heights because, guys, I really believe we can beat them no matter what everyone else says.

So while thinking about what to say I remind myself of what I was reading the other day; 1 Samuel chapter 17. In 1Sam 17, there’s one guy, one warrior named Goliath – a giant who everyone fears from. Some facts even say that he was 9-feet-9 tall. And he goes to Israel and challenges their king Saul to fight someone from their kingdom. If he wins, people of Israel will become his slaves.

There comes one boy called David. David is this young kid who never fought in a war in his life. He never had armor and sword in his hands before… but out of all people he decides that he’s going to fight this giant champion. Of course, no one believes that David can win.

And while thinking of them, of Goliath and David something pop up in my mind.

Looking at them I was projecting someone else.

Isn’t Goliath something that Central Heights can be called? I mean, they’re undefeated. The best team in our district and one of the best in the whole state of Texas. They have players who are going to play ball in college. Their pitcher might go straight to the MLB. They can win state guys. They’re at the top! They’re the giant champion! THEY’RE GOLIATH!

On the other side I see us. I see Garrison. I see small school who never won state, unlike Central Heights. I see people who are laughing at our chances when we play against them. I see people who after Tuesday are not believing that we can achieve playoff. I see people who hates us! I see team that no one believes in! We’re at the bottom. NO ONE THINKS WE CAN WIN!

Isn’t that just like David?

But let’s back up to them a little bit. Everything is ready for the fight. They start and what happens? No, Goliath doesn’t win. DAVID BEATS GOLIATH! He beats him with his shepherd stick and few stones. What really is important here is that before David faced Goliath, the Israel King offered his armor and sword to David. He put it on but soon realized it’s not going to work. He knew he wasn’t a warrior in a traditional sense. He had never fought in armor before. Pretending he was something he wasn’t would only hinder him from being able to do what he knew how to do. He was accustomed to using a stick to defend. That’s what he did; got a stick and few stones and went to fight. Yes, sir. He won.

I remember our first game against them here. In this ball park… in front of our people. We were supposed to be David, but unlike him, we put the armor and the sword and went to fight them. We didn’t realized that getting equal to their level is not going to work. We forgot who we are. We forgot to honor what we are and we pretended to be something else and we didn’t succeed. We played their game and unlike David, we lost.

When David went to face Goliath he knew that his stick was in good condition. He didn’t keep it stored away, he used it. He also knew he’s going to need stones. He knew and was familiar with his weapons.

What weapons this team has to win?

Well guys, let me tell you: your weapons are your faith to this team, coaches, faith to God. Our weapons are the knowledge of the game, things y’all are learning every day on the field; your obedience to what Coach Greer asks from you to do. And yes, guys, the truth. The truth is on your side.

 

If David went and beat Goliath when no one thought he can win, why Garrison can’t be like David and BEAT GOLIATH OUT OF CENTRAL HEIGHTS?

If God says it’s possible, who are we to say no?!

This is our truth!

I believe that their sword and armor is not better than our sticks and stones!

I BELIEVE THAT THEIR PITCHERS AND CATCHERS ARE NOT BETTER THAN YOU CHRIS, AND YOU CARSON, AND YOU CARL.

pc

I BELIEVE THAT YOU LUKE, TY AND COOK ARE BETTER THAN THEIR OUTFIELDERS!

outfield2

I BELIEVE THAT SEAN, HOTROD AND YOU CHUCK ARE BETTER THAN THEIR THIRD, SECOND AND FIRST BASEMAN!

infield2

I BELIEVE THAT THEIR DUGOUT IS NOT ANY BETTER THAN OUR; HUNTER, LOGAN, JA’KOBE, AUSTIN, HUNTER – YOU GUYS ARE NOT WORSE THAN THEM!

dugout

AND YES, GUYS: I BELIEVE THAT WE HAVE BETTER COACHES THAT THEY HAVE!

IT IS TIME TO GO OUT THERE TOMORROW AND WIN THE GAME!

I BELIEVE GUYS!

I BELIEVE!

WE CAN DO THIS!

YOU CAN DO THIS!”

12417532_886975998095425_6144116130473888725_n

 

 

Leave a Reply

