HOW ABOUT SOME TEXAN?

Happy October people! How y’allbin? In case you didn’t understand me I just asked how have you been doing but on Texan. Yes, sir – today I’m going to teach you some Texan (or at least try to)… and tell you some things about Texas you probably never heard of.

I got in Texas at the end of July last year, and guess what was the first book I got from my host dad? You bet he gave me “Speak Texan in 30 minutes or less”. At first, I laughed and left the book on my bookshelf… but it didn’t took me long before I realized I really need this book. You’ll see why.

14508662_1088511687883029_802718282_n
Created by NN

First things first, you will never hear a Texan say “you all”, that’s just not part of their vocabulary… and please don’t try to spell it if you don’t know how. Y’ALL!

Very important thing I learned from the beginning from my host dad was that people in Texas are never going to do something, or about to do something. Instead, they’re fixin’ to do something… always.

14569184_1088511691216362_1337837336_n
Created by NN

As you can see here, Texans never pronounce the “g” in the words that end with -ing… never. It’s not “I’m going hunting” but “I’m goin’ huntin’”.

You want to speak more like a Texan? If yes, then change “-ing” when is found within a word, to –ang (example: thangs, wangs, brangs…). That’s enough for beginnin’.

Another Texas thingy is: HOWDY! It’s the way how people in small town in Texas will most likely greet you. I remember the first time I heard this word. It was at school in Garrison and one of our teachers was holding the door for us, students, to enter the school building. He was greeting each one of us with “howdy”. I had no clue about the meaning before I looked it up in the book.

14556091_1088511671216364_799256568_n
Created by NN

AIN’T! Yes, you read it correctly: Texans ain’t got time to say aren’t. They also have other variations of ain’t such as ain’tchya when they want to ask you a question.

In Texas, supper is dinner… coke is any kind of soda (Dr. Pepper most of the time tho)… and instead of “sure enough” you say “sure’nuff”. When you don’t understand something you ask “huh?”… “uh huh” is yes, btw. You don’t say “have you eaten?” but “jeetyet?”… and when you want to ask what you call something you just ask “whut’s this?”

Enough words and phrases to begin with? I think so.

How about some rules that every non-Texan needs to know?

  1. They might smell like pigs, cattle and chicken to you but they smell like money to Texans. I love this!!! I learned it from my host dad.
  2. The “Opener” refers to the first day of deer season. It’s a religious holiday held the closest Saturday to the first of November. Yes, people – HUNTING!
  3. Texas man always open doors for women. It’s applied to everyone, regardless of age.
  4. There’s no “vegetarian special” on most menus in Texas. You order stake. Medium rare. That’s all you need.
  5. Friday nights during high school football are another religious holiday.
  6. You meet a vehicle coming from the other way on a two-lane road, you wave. It’s called being friendly.
  7. Never tell an Aggie joke to an Aggie (proud alum of Texas A&M University). Especially not when you’re in College Station. Trust me.

One last thing – Texas Weather. The Lone Star State (the nickname of Texas) is quite possibly the only place on Earth that can hit you with tornadoes, record heat, hurricanes, blizzards, dust storms, earthquakes, hailstorms, wind storms, thunderstorms, lightning storms, drought, floods, ball lightning, ice storms, mosquitoes, fire ants and killer bees. Sometimes all on the same weekend. And with the most beautiful sunset you’ve ever seen.

sunset
Friday night in Nacogdoches, Texas.

I believe this is more than enough things to know about Texas for beginning. I hope you’ll like it!

P.S. Whenever I say ain’t I remind myself of my youngest host brother Lawson. He’s 6 years old now and he isn’t allowed to say ain’t. His parents don’t want him to speak like a Texan so young. I remember the time when we were over Dear and Pop’s (my host dad’s parents) house and Dear was explaining him “how ain’t is dead and ain’t has his funeral today”. Yes, she used to be a teacher.

P.S. 2 You might not be used to say please and thank you or “yes, ma’am” and “no, sir” but that’s the way Texans talk because that’s the way they were raised. It’s called manners.

3 thoughts on “HOW ABOUT SOME TEXAN?

Leave a Reply

